Blog 7 Psych Song

  “The Six Reasons We Like Music” article was a very interesting read. I agree with all but one of the reasons based on the reasons I listen to music. I, however, do not agree with the order. I have never listened to music to understand others or the world, but I have listened for the other five reasons. Of the remaining reasons, negative mood management is my number one followed by diversion and positive mood management. The reason negative mood management is my highest is because I listen to music do distract me from my life struggles and to relieve stress. With college and finances having such a huge factor in my life, music is a necessity for me to forget all the bad and relax. I also listen to music while doing homework and cleaning. It helps me stay focused and get things done. Music also puts me in a happy mood and makes life seem even better.

“I Hate Everything About You” by Three Days Grace

Every time we lie awake

After every hit we take

Every feeling that I get
But I haven’t missed you yet

Every roommate kept awake
By every sigh and scream we make
All the feelings that I get
But I still don’t miss you yet

Only when I stop to think about it

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Every time we lie awake
After every hit we take
Every feeling that I get
But I haven’t missed you yet

Only when I stop to think about it

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

Only when I stop to think about you,
I know Only when you stop to think about me,
do you know?

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?
You hate everything about me
Why do you love me?

I hate
You hate
I hate
You love me

I hate everything about you
Why do I love you?

 

  The kind of Psychological idea this song demonstrates is a love hate relationship. The love hate relationship stems from and affects many other psychological concepts. They are listed as: Human sexuality, principles of sensation and perception, vision, hearing, other senses, intelligence, motivation, need to belong, emotion and all its elements, stress and health, happiness, social thinking, influence, and relation. There are so many things interconnected in this little love hate relationship. In a sense the song covers all kinds of psychological ideas. Love hate relationships are affected by all factors. Vision, hearing, and the other senses will apply to your partner’s looks, voice, skin, scent, and other features. Intelligence will apply to how a couple learn about and from each other. Motivation and need to belong are simple. They affect your mind set on what level of dislike you will put up with to stay together. This usually goes along with very co-dependent people. Those who have such a high neediness to belong and have someone that they will settle for anything. Being in a relationship like that will mess with emotions of all kind and cause false feelings and lead to stress and decreased
healthiness. Your social thinking and influences of those around you will affect how you view your relationship and what happiness really is. Bottom line this song is about a guy who can’t seem to find anything he likes about this girl that he keeps going back to. He claims to love her, but cannot for the life of him think of one thing he likes about her.

Leave a Reply

